The trash can has two distinct purposes:
- Prevent an extra "are you sure" pop-up message.
- Prevent hickups in a recording, caused by excessive harddisk activity when deleting large files.
By default, the trash can is enabled. To disable it, go to:
Menu - Settings - System - Recording - Use trash can
and set the option to "no". Note that this will only affect where objects go when you delete them, it will not remove existing items.
To delete a movie from the movie list, simply hightlight it in the list and press the red button (or press 'menu' and select delete). If you have set the option to be asked after playback, selecting "Stop and delete" will also move it to the trash instead of actually deleting it.
Open up the movie list and browse to the Trash can folder (usually at the top of the list, with a little trashcan icon). Open this folder with OK and browse to the item you wish to restore. Press the green button (move) and select the folder to move it into. Once moved away from the trash can, it is 'undeleted'.
The trash can never asks for confirmation since you can always undelete an item if you change your mind later. If you do get a confirmation message, this usually means that the item could not be moved to the trash can (there will also be an indication of the failure message). If you answer YES, the item will be permanently deleted instead.
Normally, there is no need to manually empty the trash! (This is not Windows)
You can permanently delete individual items by browsing to the trash can folder and deleting it (again). You will get a confirmation message.
To permanently remove all items from the trash can, highlight the trash can folder and "delete" it. You'll be asked for confirmation, and you'll get an extra warning when recordings are in progress (the extra harddisk activity may
interfere with recording).
Two resources control the trash can: Time and space.
The "keep items in trash for how many days" setting controls the time aspect. The system will not purge items until they have been in the trash for at least this many days. The default is 8 days, just over a week.
Space is more important than time. If the items are still fresh enough, but space is running low on the harddisk, they will be purged anyway to make room for new recordings. That is controlled by the "Keep at least this much free space" setting. The default is 40 Gb, which should be enough for quite a few HD recordings.
The trash can is emptied when preparing for recording (about a minute before starting it) and after recordings have finished and no more recordings are running. This accomplishes that the harddisk is not needlessly bothered, and that the system is usually right on time to make room for more.
Note that setting the time limit to 0 days is not the same as disabling the trash can. The items will not be purged until a recording starts or ends. Setting a time limit of 0 days allows you to delete files while recordings are in progress, without interfering with the recording.
The trash can is simply a folder called ".Trash" in the /hdd/movie directory (which is the system default for recordings). Moving a file to this folder puts it under the trash can's control. The "ctime" (file creation date/time) is considered the deletion date/time, this timestamp is set by the OS when the directory entry is created. The trash can is not limited to recordings, any file or even directory can be moved there and it will be permanently deleted once it expires or when disk space runs low. Be careful with directories though, 'touch' the contents to alter their ctime, otherwise the trashcan may remove them much earlier than you expected.
Back to the PLi® Wiki : DM500 : DM500+ : DM56xx : DM600 : DM7000 : DM7020 : DM7025 : DM800 : DM8000